

## Saint Francis Community High School journalists win at State

State champions crowned in both individual and team categories

LAWRENCE, May 2, 2020 – The Kansas Scholastic Press Association is proud to announce the winners of the 2020 State Contest, which rewarded the best student journalism from around the state. To earn the chance to compete in the State Contest, students qualified through Regional Contests in February.

Despite school cancelations and unforeseen circumstances, in this year's digital state contest, students from 65 different schools competed in 23 different categories in three different classifications. KSPA will award more than 350 awards for entries into the contest.

In the State Contest, which was moved to an online format this year in response to the novel coronavirus pandemic, students from 65 different schools competed in 23 different categories in three different classifications. KSPA will award more than 350 awards for entries into the contest.

From Saint Francis Community High School, the following students won awards:

- Cassidy Busse, Sports Photography, First Place
- Cassidy Busse, Sports Writing, Third Place
- Karly Bandel, Cutline Writing, Third Place
- Karly Bandel, News Page Design, Fifth Place
- Audrey Meyer, News Writing, Second Place
- Hadleigh Hilt, Copy Editing, Third Place
- McKenna Poling, Advertising, Fifth Place
- Bree De Waal, Photo Illustration, First Place
- Rian Zimbal, Student Life Photography, Second Place

KSPA hosted the competitions digitally. Former on-site contests including copy editing and sports writing moved online. Students used notes provided in prompts to inspire their writing and cartooning entries.

Earlier in the week, students submitted hundreds of other entries – in 12 different categories – to an online contest that featured design, photography and online categories.

"Teaching students the bedrock skills of writing, editing, designing and photography is what our contest is all about," said Eric Thomas, KSPA executive director. "The judges for the contest look for solid grasp of the fundamentals first and then seek entries that go above and beyond with creativity. This year's winners showcased both creative excellence and solid skills."

Based on the combined scores of the students from each school, KSPA names a Sweepstakes Champion for each school enrollment size. This year, the following schools earned Sweepstakes Championships:

- 1A: Saint Francis Community High School
- · 2A: Chase County Jr./Sr. High School
- · 3A: Humboldt High School
- · 4A: Chanute High School
- · 5A: Salina Central High School
- · 6A: Mill Valley High School

KSPA enlists the help of journalism teachers, professional journalists, university faculty members and other journalism experts to judge the entries.

###

**About KSPA:** The Kansas Scholastic Press Association is a non-profit association of more than 100 high school and middle school journalism programs. Its mission is to promote excellence in high school journalism publications and education. Please log on to learn more at <u>www.kspaonline.org</u>.

## **KSPA** Contact:

Eric Thomas, executive director, (785) 864-0605, staff@kspaonline.org