Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


Front Page > breadcrumbs: Student Showcase > breadcrumbs: Journalism-Desktop >


Ajax Loading Image


Saint Francis Earns 2020 State Championship In Journalism

Saint Francis Community High School journalists swept the 2020 KSPA 1A state championship title on Saturday with a cumulative 42 points. Burrton High School came in second with 25 points. 

“I’m so proud of everyone!” said Cassidy Busse, Wigwam Editor-in-Chief. “I was so excited when I heard how well our yearbook staff did at state. With it being my last year to compete, I was just happy to hear I placed; but when I saw we got first as a team, I don’t think I could’ve smiled any bigger. Everyone works so hard all year. I couldn’t have asked for a better group or teacher to end the year with!” 

Seniors Cassidy Busse, Audrey Meyer, Karly Bandel and Italia Gutierrez all placed at state. Busse earned first place in sports photography and third in sports writing. Meyer placed second in news writing. Bandel placed third in cutline writing and fifth in news page design. Gutierrez placed sixth in infographics. 

Sophomores Hadleigh Hilt, Kara Maybury, and McKenna Poling all placed at state. Hilt placed third in copy editing. Maybury placed fourth in news page design. Poling placed fifth in advertising. 

“It was reassuring to know that I am good at [copy editing,]” Hilt said. “I always doubt myself, but it’s hard to be doubtful when you place third at state. I really loved the opportunity to still be able to compete even at home.”

Freshmen Bree De Waal and Rian Zimbal both placed at state. De Waal earned first place in photo illustration. Zimbal placed second in student life photography.  

“It’s so exciting,” Zimbal said. “I’m so proud of us!”

De Waal said it feels awesome to be a part of the state championship team as a freshman. 

The following students all placed at regionals and qualified to compete at state: Seniors Karly Bandel, Cassidy Busse, Audrey Meyer, Italia Gutierrez and Yaneiri Quezada; Juniors Adam Krien, Emma LaLond, Colton Neitzel and Josiah Sims; Sophomores Hadleigh Hilt, Kara Maybury and McKenna Poling; and Freshmen Bree De Waal, Elle Krien and Rian Zimbal.

  • RSS Icon

St. Francis 100 College Street St. Francis, KS  67756

Superintendent's Office: 785-332-8182 High School Office: 785-332-8153 Elementary Office: 785-332-8143

Sign up for the News Update.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

Back To Top