Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


Front Page > breadcrumbs: Activities >


Ajax Loading Image


Classifications Released for 2017-2018

September 20 was the official "count day" for schools in Kansas. Using the enrollments of schools on September 20, the Kansas State High School Activities Association (KSHSAA) determines classes for athletic and activity competition for the upcoming year. On September 20, St. Francis High School's enrollment in grades 9-12 was 92. This number of students places St. Francis in class 2A (student enrollments between 156-92) for all KSHSAA activities except for football. St. Francis will remain in class 1A-Division 1 for football for the 2017 season as football classifications are for two years while all other activities are corrected for enrollment each year.

Class 2A contains schools with enrollments of 156-92. St. Francis will be the smallest 2A school in the state (similar to how it was classified for many years in the past). The last few years, St. Francis has been a 1A-Division 1 school. 

Other "local" schools that will be competing in 2A for the 2017-2018 school year are:  Elkhart (124), Ellis (152), Greensburg-Kiowa County (99), Hill City (101), Hoxie (105), LaCrosse (95), Leoti-Wichita County (124), Meade (130), Ness City (106), Oakley (124), Oberlin-Decatur Community (105), Plainville (146), Smith Center (126), Spearville (99), Sublette (123), Syracuse (151), and Wakeeney-Trego Community (118).

Schools changing classifications "locally" include:  Colby (from 4A to 3A), Goodland (from 4A to 3A), Scott City (from 4A to 3A), Jetmore-Hodgeman County (from 1A to 2A), LaCrosse (from 1A to 2A), St. Francis (from 1A to 2A), Syracuse (from 3A to 2A), and Atwood-Rawlins County (from 2A to 1A). Local schools Colby, Goodland, and Scott City will now be participating in the 3-2-1A State Wrestling Tournament.

Enrollments of some other schools of interest:

3A (Schools between 260-156):  Colby (258), Goodland (257), Norton (213), Phillipsburg (204), and Russell (250).

1A (Schools between 92-20):  Atwood-Rawlins County (87), Bird City-Cheylin (39), Brewster (48), Dighton (74), Grainfield-Wheatland/Grinnell (56), Healy (20), Logan (57), Osborne (74), Palco (28), Quinter (63), Rexford-Golden Plains (56), Sharon Springs-Wallace County (62), Stockton (90), Tribune-Greeley County (65), Victoria (87), Wekan (39), and Winona-Triplains (22).

During the 2018-2019 football seasons, St. Francis will be competing in 8-Man Division 1 (enrollments of 99-63). This classification is based on the number of students in grades 9-11 and will be in effect for two years. "Local" schools competing in the division will be:  Atwood-Rawlins County (65), Greensburg-Kiowa County (78), Hill City (73), Hoxie (81), Leoti-Wichita County (87), Ness City (81), Oberlin-Decatur Community (83), Spearville (70), St. Francis (69), Stockton (64), Victoria (71), and Wakeeney-Trego Community (82).

"Local" schools in 8-Man Division II (enrollments of 62-34) will be:  Dighton (54), Grainfield-Wheatland.Grinnel (44), Kensington-Thunder Ridge (60), Logan/Palco (62), Osborne (53), Quinter (45), Sharon Springs-Wallace County (50), Tribune-Greeley County (47), and Winona-Triplains/Brewster (47).

  • RSS Icon

St. Francis 100 College Street St. Francis, KS  67756

Superintendent's Office: 785-332-8182 High School Office: 785-332-8153 Elementary Office: 785-332-8143

Sign up for the News Update.

Back To Top