Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

St. Francis



Ajax Loading Image


2020 KSHSAA State Basketball Tournament Sportsmanship Awards

The Kansas State High School Activities Association, through its member schools, defines sportsmanship as those qualities of behavior which are characterized by generosity and genuine concern for others.  Further, an awareness is expected of the impact of an individual’s influence on the behavior of others.


The excitement of a basketball game can create concerns for fans, students and officials.  Citizenship/Sportsmanship Rule 52 addresses this by stating: “Win with character and lose with dignity.”


Outstanding sportsmanship is acknowledged each year by presenting sportsmanship certificates, plaques and medals.  All 96 high school teams participating in KSHSAA State Basketball Tournaments may qualify for an award.  A “rating” system is used allowing schools to compete against a “standard of excellence”, rather than competing against one another.


Due to the tournament being canceled after the quarterfinal rounds, there were no plaques & medals awarded.


A special sportsmanship committee appointed by the KSHSAA evaluated and rated the cheerleaders, school cheering section, adult and non-high school followers, team and coach of each school.  The following schools qualified for sportsmanship awards at the KSHSAA State Basketball Tournaments:




Class 1A Girls – 


Ingalls: Joseph Meador, Principal

Olpe: Shane Clark, Principal

Otis-Bison: Brandon Rice, Principal


Class 1A Boys –


Little River: Audrey Herbst, Principal

St. Francis: David Morrow, Principal



Class 2A Girls –


Bennington: Curtis Nightingale, Principal


Class 2A Boys –


Hoxie: Mark Wildeman, Principal

Pratt-Skyline: Herb McPherson, Principal



Class 3A Girls –


Frontenac: Mike Copple, Principal

Halstead: Joe Gerber, Principal

Osage City: Tony Heward, Principal

Scott Community: Brad McCormick, Principal


Class 3A Boys –


Beloit: Casey Seyfert, Principal

Colby: Dr. Stephanie McNemar, Principal



Class 4A Girls –


Baldwin: Brant Brittingham, Principal

Chapman: Kevin Suther, Principal

Clay Center Community: Bud Young, Principal

Eudora: Ron Abel, Principal

Kansas City-Piper: John Nguyen, Principal



Class 4A Boys –


Augusta: Donna Zerr, Principal

Buhler: Michael Ellegood, Principal

Kansas City-Piper: John Nguyen, Principal

Shawnee Mission-Bishop Miege: Maureen Engen, Principal



Class 5A Girls –


Andover Central: Cheryl Hochhalter, Principal


Class 5A Boys –


Andover: Dr. Kristen Kuhlmann



Class 6A Girls –




Class 6A Boys –


Haysville-Campus: David Morford, Principal