Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

St. Francis

  • Head Cook Position Opening

    USD 297 is seeking a quality candidate for the head cook position for the 2023-2024 school year.  The candidate would begin work immediately for training and take over in August.  The position is a 9-month position, has a competitive salary, and offers Blue Cross/Blue Shield Insurance.  All interested candidates need to contact Superintendent Mark Penka at 785-332-8182 or mpenka@usd297.org
    read more
  • 2022-2023 Bus Route Statement


    Dear community members,


    There has been some concern over the school no longer transporting students who live closer than 2.5 miles from the school on bus routes.  Hopefully, this letter better explains how and why that decision came about.  Currently, USD 297 has five routes to transport students, but we only have three full-time bus drivers with a CDL capable of driving anything larger than a 14-passenger vehicle.  Kansas legislation currently requires school districts to transport only those students who live 2.5 miles away from school or further. Therefore, in order to bus all students who qualify for transportation, we have had to make the unfortunate decision to discontinue busing students who live within the 2.5 mile radius of the students' attending buildings.   


    Some districts do not transport students under the 2.5 mile threshold, while others districts may charge to transport students in that situation.  USD 297 wishes that we were able to provide transportation for all students who lived outside of city limits on the regular bus routes, but to be able to do this, we need two additional full-time drivers who have a CDL.  


    The district is currently exploring other options for transporting all students outside of the city limits who live closer than 2.5 miles away, but that is very difficult without the required number of drivers to make that happen.  So if you have a CDL and wish to commit to being a full-time driver, please contact Garrett Sundstrom.  Until USD 297 has a quality plan that would work, we will continue to only transport students who live 2.5 miles from the school or further. But please be patient; we are exploring all options to try and correct the transportation issue. 


    At the same time we are trying to address this issue, the district still faces staff shortages in other areas. In total, one cook, one paraprofessional, one classroom aid, and two full-time CDL certified bus drivers are needed.   


    Thank you,


    Mark Penka       

    read more
  • 2022-2023 Grade School supply list

    read more
  • SFCHS 2022-2023 School Activities Calendar

    read more
  • 8th grade 4 x 100 meter relay record broken

    On April 28, 2022, the 8th grade 4 x 100 meter relay record was broken. The previous record of 56.3s was set in 1975 by Debbie Barnhart, Jenni Burnham, Gail Dirks, and Darci Stang. The team of Breck Lohr, Avery Jensen, Madison Siegfried, and Eden Britton beat it with a time of 55.65s.


    read more
Previous FeatureNext Feature

Journalism Class

Journalism Class 2

  Slideshow Icon Graduation 2022

Journalism class 3